top of page
Shane Mickelsen headshot 2020
Shane Mickelsen headshot 2022
Shane Mickelsen
Shane Mickelsen headshot 2016
Shane Mickelsen Headshot 2018
Shane Mickelsen headshot 2022
Shane Mickelsen conducting 2018

Shane Mickelsen is an active composer, arranger, conductor, and teacher. His compositional style has its roots in his love of the classics from Bach to Brahms, whose rich harmonies he fuses with New Age styles to create emotive modern orchestral music.


He holds a bachelor's degree in Vocal Performance from Utah State and a Master's of Music degree in Music Composition from the University of Utah. Shane also spent some time as a Ph.D. student in Music Composition at the University of Utah before deciding to focus more time into a career of writing commercial music.


In addition to these popular styles, Shane continues to write for classical music circles as a 21st-century composer touching on Free Style Atonality, Serialism, Atonal Impressionism, and Electro-Acoustic Compositions.His arrangements and compositions have been performed internationally and at the White House for the President of the United States. 

Shane's composing career began when his mother began training him in music theory at age 12. It took flight when at age 17 he was commissioned by the School of Music at Utah State University to compose an opera for its Opera Theatre Program. Shane then composed, rehearsed, music directed, and conducted the premier performances of "The Wolf and the Seven Kids" to great local acclaim.

Shane is currently busy writing orchestrations, arrangements, transcriptions, and original music for various artists including The Piano Guys, Paul Cardall, and other private clientele. He serves as Music Director of the Lyceum Concert Orchestra at American Heritage School in American Fork , Utah, and happily works as private voice and music composition teacher.

Check out some of Shane's work!

Text us at (385) 269-9859 to discuss your next project!


The works below have been composed, arranged, produced, and/or orchestrated by Shane Mickelsen. See descriptions for further details.